VIDEO: INTERVIEW – Alex Lahey at Outside Lands 2019

Garnering critical acclaim for her sophomore LP, The Best of Luck Club, 26-year-old Alex Lahey avoided any type of sophomore jinx and continues to satiate a growing fanbase. The album was primarily written in Nashville, TN where Lahey spent quite a bit of time in the local dive bar scene. The album covers a wide range of emotions and topics including self-doubt, burn out, break-ups and mental health. “When I was writing all the stuff in Nashville I was really inspired by the dive bar scene there and the idea that at these dive bars there’s no pretentious energy,” Lahey explains. “Whether you’ve had the best day of your life or the worst day of your life, you can just sit up at the bar and turn to the person next to you, who has no idea who you are, and have a chat. And the response that you generally get at the end of the conversation is, ‘Best of luck,’ so The Best Of Luck Club is that place.” “These songs are almost written for each patron of a dive bar,” she says, “because they’re so varied in the experiences that are being presented and it’s almost as if each one of the songs is someone’s day. I feel writing these songs is me going into The Best Of Luck Club and reflecting, and coming out with each individual song.” The material follows up her successful debut album, I Love You Like a Brother that took her away from just playing in her native Australia to her first taste of global touring; festival slots at the likes of Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, and Osheaga.

B-Sides caught up with Alex Lahey during Outside Lands to talk about performing at the festival, her admiration for Kacey Musgraves, the new album, raiding Area 51 and more. Check out the interview:


Alex Lahey Tour 2019 Dates:

Sat. Aug. 30 – Seattle, WA @ Bumbershoot
Sun. Sep. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Tue. Sep. 3 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Thu. Sep. 5 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Wed. Oct. 23 – Belgrave, AU @ Sooki Lounge
Thu. Oct. 24 – Bendigo, AU @ Tap House
Sun. Oct. 27 – Albury, AU @ SS&A Club
Wed. Nov. 6 – Ulladulla, AU @ The Marlin Hotel
Thu. Nov. 7 – Wollongong, AU @ University of Wollongong UniBar
Fri. Nov. 8 – North Narrabeen, AU @ Narrabeen RSL
Fri. Nov. 15 – Mooloolaba, AU @ The Helm
Sat. Nov. 16 – Byron Bay, AU @ Byron Bay Brewery
Sun. Nov. 17 – Miami, AU @ Miami Marketta, Gold Coast
Thu. Nov. 21 – Cairns, AU @ Gilligans Cairns
Fri. Nov. 22 – Townsville, AU @ Otherwise

B-Sides Staff
B-Sides On-Air has staff contributors across the country, writing about their musical passions, new discoveries, thoughts on the musical climate and top-of-mind events. If you're interested in writing for us, send over your info and writing sample to- bsides (at) b-sides (dot) tv